Composer: Barna Szabó
Lyricist: Francesco d’Assisi


Words from composer:

Laudato si’, mi’ Signore was born under a special constellation of circumstances. For more than two decades I have been planning to set the famous Cantico into music – since I heard György Orbán’s setting for the first time in 1996. This, the most beautiful setting ever, at the same time, kept me back from daring to make my own version until I was commissioned a piece by The Kodály Center at Holy Names University two years ago. Located near to San Francisco in California, the city named after the holy author, gave me the idea to choose this popular hymn that I had been longing for, for a long time. Dedicated to their 50th anniversary, my humble work is also a tribute to my brilliant master who greatly influenced me.

Printed score and digital score are prepared. Please choose one below.


Composer: Barna Szabó
Lyricist: Francesco d’Assisi
Parts: SSAA
Accompaniment: Piano
Language: Italy
Performance duration: 5’30” – 6′
Pages: 16

Reference Video

==Performance Information==
Edition ICOT Opening Ceremony Concert on Nov. 8th, 2020
Conductor: Ko Matsushita
Pianist: Katsunori Maeda
Choir: The Metropolitan Chorus of Tokyo